The MWI

Mission and Objectives

The aim of the Institute of Missiology Missio e.V. (MWI) is to promote research and teaching within the catholic missionary work. The main objectives are the promotion of the autonomy and the future of the local church by enabling young, talented people to follow an academic formation and to achieve leading positions in their church. In a worldwide ecclesiastic learning community the MWI supports the exchange with Christians and theological institutions in Germany. 

The starting point of our activities is the 2nd Vatican Council (1962 until 1965). Regarding mission, it was decided that the Church will have the task to find solutions to social problems, particularly in the developing countries. Each human being should profit from this service of the church without regarding neither his origin nor his religion. Christian faith should be integrated in the multitude of local traditions and structures and ecclesiastic traditions of local churches should be supported. 

Priestly formation today requires not only learning about Christian theology and various pastoral activities, but also about their own culture and the social fabric and political system of their home country. This is helpful not only to preach more effectively the faith message, but also helps to improve the life conditions of the people. 

It is this mission that the MWI is working for, under the actual circumstances on the formation of priests, religious people and the laity.

MWI Objectives

This mission leads the MWI towards the following main objectives: 

  • interreligious dialogue,
  • intercultural exchange between different theological, philosophical and religious traditions,
  • promotion of the inculturation of the Good News and the contextual theological approaches in Africa, Asia and Oceania.

By interreligious and intercultural dialogue different religions and cultures are getting familiar with each other and enrich each other. Thus, dialogue contributes to a peaceful living-together of different people and groups.

By inculturation Church and the Good News get reachable for the people and thus get settled in the different cultures. Church and theology take these different cultural traditions into account in order to preach in these cultures and throughout them the Gospel. By this way of a mutual enrichment a learning community World Church will be build up.

Contextual Theologies take up with the concrete life's reality of people and present them in the light of the evangelism. They show us ways towards the future according to the mind of Christ. By this way they help to solve social problems in southern countries.

These are the objectives that the MWI is committed to in its promoted projects and in its activities.

Share the joy

Pastor Günter Ludwig

"I celebrated my golden anniversary as a priest with a three-day pilgrimage by foot with my former parish and with a High Mass. I look back with gratitude, praying for the MWI fellows and their way with their communities. In favor of a donation for the fellows I renounced to gifts and thereby I want to express the spiritual and material solidarity with the young church in the south."

Pastor Günther Ludwig

Das MWI

Auftrag und Ziele

Das Missionswissenschaftliche Institut Missio e.V. (MWI) hat die Aufgabe, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Lehre in der katholischen Missionsarbeit zu fördern. Ziel ist die Förderung der Eigenständigkeit und die Zukunft der Ortskirchen, indem jungen, begabten Menschen für die Führungsaufgaben in der Kirche eine akademische Ausbildung ermöglicht, und ihre akademische Arbeit unterstützt wird. In einer weltweiten kirchlichen Lerngemeinschaft unterstützt das MWI den Austausch mit den Christen und den theologischen Institutionen in Deutschland.

Ausgangspunkt unseres Handelns ist das Zweite Vatikanische Konzil (1962 bis 1965). Dort wurde mit Bezug auf die Missionierung unter anderem festgelegt, dass die Kirche auch vor der Aufgabe steht, soziale Probleme insbesondere in den Entwicklungsländern, zu bekämpfen. Von diesem Dienst der Kirche soll jeder Mensch profitieren, unabhängig von seiner Herkunft und seiner Religion. Der christliche Glaube soll in die Vielfalt lokaler Bräuche und Strukturen eingebunden, und die kirchlichen Traditionen der Ortskirchen gefördert werden.

Von der Priesterausbildung in Entwicklungsgebieten wird verlangt, dass sich die Kandidaten neben dem Erlernen pastoraler Tätigkeiten und der christlichen Theologie auch mit der eigenen Kultur, Sozialstruktur und dem politischen System ihres Heimatlandes beschäftigen. Dies soll nicht nur zur besseren Verkündigung der Glaubensinhalte geschehen, sondern auch, um die Lebenssituation der Menschen zu verbessern.

Diesem Auftrag weiß sich das MWI auch unter den heutigen Bedingungen bei der Ausbildung von Priestern, Ordensleuten und Laien verpflichtet.

Ziele des MWI

Aus diesem Auftrag ergeben sich die Hauptziele des MWI:

  • der interreligiöse Dialog;
  • der interkulturelle Austausch zwischen unterschiedlichen theologischen, philosophischen und religiösen Traditionen, sowie
  • die Förderung der Inkulturation der Frohen Botschaft und kontextueller theologischer Ansätze in Afrika, Asien und Ozeanien.

Im interreligiösen und interkulturellen Dialog werden die unterschiedlichen Religionen und Kulturen einander vertrauter und bereichern sich. Er leistet so einen Beitrag zum friedlichen Zusammenleben unterschiedlicher Menschen und Gruppen.

Durch Inkulturation werden Kirche und Frohe Botschaft für die Völker zugänglich und in den verschiedenen Kulturen heimisch. Kirche und Theologie greifen die verschiedenen kulturellen Traditionen auf, um in diesen Kulturen und durch sie das Evangelium zu verkünden, und so in gegenseitiger Bereicherung eine Lerngemeinschaft Weltkirche aufzubauen.

Kontextuelle Theologien knüpfen an die konkrete Lebenswirklichkeit der Menschen an, deuten diese im Lichte des Evangeliums und zeigen Wege in die Zukunft im Sinne Christi auf. So leisten sie einen Beitrag zur Lösung sozialer Probleme in den Ländern des Südens.

Diesen Zielen weiß sich das MWI in den geförderten Projekten und seinen Aktivitäten verpflichtet.

Ich bin überrascht und stolz über die Spenden zu meinem Jubiläum

„Was das MWI leistet, ist ein Beispiel nachhaltiger Hilfe. Wenn die Feier meines Diamantenen Priesterjubiläums dazu einen Beitrag geleistet hast, umso besser.“

Monsignore Mensing